It is crucial for a life coach to follow a particular set of models that are tailor-made to help their patients. These models have been put in place by some of the most well-known and respected scholars in the field of psychology and for decades these models have been used to treat patients. Out of the numerous models in existence, Happiness Coach and its esteemed lineup of coaches follow only the very best models to provide their clients with the best possible help they can get. These models of coaching are as follows:

Quadrant Models:

This model, as the name implies, consists of sorting out the employees of a company into 4 quadrants. Their results are on the vertical axis ranging from low to high and their behaviour is on the horizontal axis ranging from low to high as well. Using this method, it is easy to pick out the best performers and helping them further in polishing their potential and making them have more influence over their low performing colleagues so they can be motivated. The same way performers with excellent results but poor behaviour in a team can be consequently helped by allowing them to see the true potential of teamwork. Low performing employees with bad behaviours can be easily distinguished from this lot making it easier to help them in recognizing their potential so they can start performing well for the company.

Circular Models

This type of model is goal-oriented that is clearly indicated in the innermost core circle. The second and third circles consist of 4 things that help the person reach a conclusion of where they have to improve. These 4 parts of the circle are:

· Needs to – This is mainly the responsibilities that a particular job consists of

· Wanting to – This is about what drives a person to do that job

· Able to do – This is about the capability of the person, their weaknesses and their strengths

· Allowed to do – The short term and long term opportunities available to that person

The core and the second and third circles (also known as Field circles) determine what the person is working towards and the context in which they work.

Nested Models

Each model has to be flexible so the person can better adapt to it rather than being rigid or very prescriptive. This is where the Nester model works best because it consists of a level based learning system that works in 2 axes, horizontal and vertical.

This model works first at the horizontal level “doing” and then later dives down one level deeper into “learning”. The third level which is the “ontological” level makes the person reflect about themselves, others and the experiences they’ve had so far, which allows them to come face-to-face with new knowledge about themselves and the world around which consequently helps in improving that person’s situation.

The U-process Model

The U-process is also known as Scharmer’s model of change. This process is all about making the person have a transition from the worst parts of their life to a better future. Scharmer’s process moves the person through different phases of change and perception, with various different actions that follow. The three main elements of this model are sensing, presencing, and realizing. These are the 3 main aspects of the U.

Sensing is about observing the current situation and the world around. Then we move to the bottom of the U which is called presencing which consists of being self-reflective and allowing the inner knowledge to appear before us. The third part, which takes the person out of the U is realizing. This is about the actions that can now be taken as a result of self-reflection

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *